COGS held its annual prize giving last Saturday at the Royal Cornwall Yacht Club in Falmouth.
Sailors from across the county filled the clubhouse for the evening to be presented with series and individual achievement trophies. In all 31 yachts competed in the offshore and coastal series in 2017.
Racers were briefed on planned changes to the racing calendar for 2018, including a new race to Fowey in September, and a new race along the French coast from Roscoff to L’Aber Wrac’h. COGS chair Andrew Laming thanked the organising clubs and the race officers who so generously give their time to run the individual races.
He also thanked Ancasta who have become a new sponsor for the new French race and Roscoff weekend which takes place during the early May Bank Holiday weekend.
A new trophy was awarded, the Mylor Chandlery for Sailor of the Year, which was presented jointly to Bob Warren and Gilly Fox, owners of Jackdaw for the dedication they had shown during their first year racing this powerful boat.
The Penrose Sailmakers Top Yacht trophy was awarded to Nightowler, owned by Mike Lithgo for being the only yacht to compete in every coastal series race.
Helford River Sailing Club won the HMS Seahawk Team trophy. The IRC Offshore Bond Pearce Vase was won by Black Dog. The coastal series in IRC was won by Juno. In Byron class the winner was Nightowler.
Racing starts again in April with a two race there a back weekender to Fowey. For more information go to

2 handed IRC Coastal Bond Pearce Decanter
1st - Jackdaw

2 handed Byron Coastal
1st - Aura - Euan Beattie
2nd - Noon Hi - Jack Penty

IRC Coastal, Lutine Trophy
1st - Juno - HRSC 6
2nd - Daring - RCYC 9
3rd - Inn Spirit - RCYC 13
4th - Jackdaw - FSC 13
5th - Scorpion - FSC 15
6th - Just4Play - St Mawes 24

Byron Coastal - Adela Trophy
1st - Nightowler Mike LIthgo - MYC - 8
2nd - Aura Euan Beattie - MYC - 9
3rd - Xenie Paddy Royall - HRSC - 9
4th - Noon Hi - Jack Penty - FSC - 13
5th - Alice’s Mirror - Mike Garside - St Mawes -  23

Wet Sock Award
Cian - Inn Spirit

IRC Offshore Bond Pearce Vase
1st - Black Dog
2nd - Juno
3rd - Inn Spirit
4th - Carte Blanche
5th Jackdaw

Team Trophy HMS Seahawk Trophy
1st - HRSC (15)
2nd - RCYC (22)
3rd - FSC (26)
4th - MYC (17)
5th - St Mawes (47)